1/14/19

Tonight’s Writey Time Theater is brought to you by dragons and other mythical creatures.

“One by one my arrows found their mark. Hollow and filled with the magic I held within me, they pierced armor, silk, memory and love alike.
Artist, mechanic, teacher, wanderer, farmer, soldier – each bound to me with bonds unbroken through a thousand lifetimes. Now, in this life, this space, they were marked as mine, sharp tipped shafts of ivory simply dissipating, filling each of them with a flush of warmth, a flash of memory.

Perhaps the taste of ink and blood, nothing more.

The Dragon, he, of all the souls I claim, saw the arrow, and swallowed it eagerly, one more point among the razor sharpness of his teeth. I wondered that he would bind himself to me with such unthinking fearlessness, but the facets for this binding had been lain in lifetimes past. It was only one more link in the ephemeral magic between us. The Dragon, he had always seen both worlds, had always remembered me in all my manifestations.

I let the ties bring them to me, then, seeing in each that mark, that light which told me they belonged under my outstretched wings, and I knew them as mine. I laid the binding with a kiss, a touch, a word.
The arrows only solidified, validated the magic that transcended centuries.

With one exception. One arrow with only a vague wisp of dream to guide it.
A space of silent footsteps and whispered thoughts not my own.
“Find me.” It teased.
“You are not real.” I replied.
“I am.” Came the answer.
“Then you find me.” I demanded.
And I sent an arrow into nothingness to find who wanted to be claimed as mine.”

Leave a comment